Larry’s Mart – Baghdad Branch

One of the best ministries that we have is essentially a convenience store in our office.  People send care packages to us, and we stock the shelves with toiletries, snacks, writing paper, envelopes, and other goodies. We also have a bookcase filled with paperbacks, and another shelf full of DVD’s that we sign out. On the wall is a dart board, and we have a TV and refrigerator full of cold water and Gatorade.

This has two consequences. The first, obviously, is that soldiers do not have to pay for a lot of necessary items. The greater benefit for us, though, is that it gives every soldier in the unit a reason to come into the office, sit down, and chat for a while.

By the way, Larry is the NCO that manages the office when we’re here, and keeps me safe when we’re out doing other things. It’s easy to spot him when we’re together: he’s the one with the rifle, and I’m the one armed with the Bible. He’s a great guy; remember him in your prayers.

4 thoughts on “Larry’s Mart – Baghdad Branch

  1. Let us know when you need items for Larry’s Mart. We’ll try to help you keep it stocked. And tell Larry I will be praying for him and that he keeps you both safe! (I have a vested interest!)
    Love you!
    Sheri

  2. Dr. Ridenour,
    I hope things are going smoothly for you. It sounds like you have been having some great opportunities for ministry.
    I am currently a CH Candidate (finally got commissioned) and I’ll get my cross when I finish seminary.
    Keep the posts coming! This is a great way for future Chaplains to learn what it is really like to be in military ministry.
    I’ll be praying for your safety and for the safety of your soldiers.

    Take care,
    Caleb
    http://prodeoetpatria.wordpress.com

  3. If you send me a list of things you need at your store, I’ll have the kids at school start a collection. We start school the week of the twentieth. Rhonda

Leave a Reply

