May God Forgive Me

I may have committed the unpardonable sin. I threw two boxes of books in the dumpster. Or more accurately, I had the sergeant throw two boxes of books in the dumpster. This is the Army, after all.

Before I got here, I think I have only thrown away one book in my entire life. It was a copy of William Peter Blatty’s book,  The Exorcist, that I read in high school. It scared me so badly that I couldn’t bear the thought of it sitting on my bookshelf.

Before I got here, I thought a nice thing to do would be to have people send books and open up a library in my office. Evidently, I was not the first person to have that idea. When I took over the office, there was already a bookcase with five shelves, each shelf completely full with books stacked three deep. I have more books than anyone could read in the year, especially on our duty schedule.

When I got here, the outgoing chaplain told me, “Here are two more boxes of books that I didn’t put on the shelves, you do with them what you want.” Later, I opened the boxes, and they were filled with western romance novels. The covers had cowboys with jeans, hats, and nothing else, and women in dresses that left little to the imagination. So, we tossed them out.

Now, to be perfectly honest, it’s not the sex that bothers me; it’s the fear that my colleagues in the English department would find out that I’m peddling western romance novels. The evidence is gone, and the witnesses are sworn to silence.

2 thoughts on “May God Forgive Me

  1. I can attest to the fact that you never throw away books. You may pass them on to someone else, but never throw them away! In this instance, I think you did what had to be done. Somebody had to do it! Western romance? What was someone thinking?!

    I love you!

  2. Your niece is following in your footsteps! Anna started work today at our local library. Books must be in our blood. Rhonda

Leave a Reply

