Bullets in the Air

It was an exciting night last night. I had a Bible study in the office at 2000, and caught the 2100 bus back to my quarters. I live in a trailer pretty close to the edge of the camp. As I was walking from the bus stop through this open area to my trailer, a firefight (Armyese for “gun battle”) broke out outside the camp. I walked along watching tracers shoot through the sky in the distance. Then I looked up in front of me and saw two go by right in front of me. I decided then that the best course of action was to run behind a wall, and wait for the shooting to end.

When I got there, I discovered that others had opted for the same course of action. One of my companions behind the wall was a medical officer with the troop medical clinic. He said that, by the time they travel the distance to our trailers,  the bullets have lost too much velocity to shatter any bones. So, it won’t kill you, he said, but they will have to dig it out. I told him that I’d prefer not to get shot at all, even with a slow bullet.

As I was writing this, there were three large explosions from rocket attacks near our offices. I have to say that there has been a lot of progress over the last few months. The number of attacks has really gone down in some areas that had been extremely dangerous. It is still a war, however, and the last two days have been convincing reminders.

Pray for peace, ultimately; and protection in the meantime.

6 thoughts on “Bullets in the Air

  1. Just to let you know that I’m still here! I catch up on your blog every few days. So if you don’t receive one of my “wisdom notes” it’s not because I ran out! (of “wisdom” that is). Thanks for keeping this war real & on our minds.

  2. Dr. Ridenour,
    I’m praying for your safety and your ministry. Thanks for keeping all of us up to date on what is happening on your side of the world.

    Caleb

  3. Dr. Ridenour,

    I will keep you in my prayers. I envy your spirit for service and ministry. Remain safe– and thanks for the great blog.

    Justin

  4. Dude,
    You are too cool for this whole gun-fight thing. It’s actually kind of funny because as I read your blogs I imagine you saying them. Kind of like in the movies when someone is reading a letter and the character’s voice is in the background. I feel that, so there is no sense of urgency at all in my head. I’m praying for you guys.

Leave a Reply

