Longing for a Dull Life

Life has been interesting here lately. I’m never quite sure what I can post concerning attacks on the base. So, I’ll just say that I spent part of a recent morning face-down in the dirt having some serious prayer time. Fortunately, there were no serious injuries. I am looking forward to going home where the most exciting thing that happens is when the pizza delivery man drives across my yard. There’s much to be said for a long, dull life.

I was in Balad yesterday to visit a maintenance team. What a nice base! They even have a real movie theater that shows first-run movies. I think that team is going to have some serious issues soon; issues that will demand a ministry trip of several days.

5 thoughts on “Longing for a Dull Life

  1. Randy,

    I’ve been reading your blog ever since you left and feeling a real strong identity with your experiences (except for incoming). The separation from family, the constant mix of dull and scary, and discovering the joy of little things like movies seem very familiar. Beth and I have kept you in our prayers. I’m dying to hear your tales when you return. msw

  2. I’m with you on this one Randy. I’ve always said excitement is highly over-rated. Give me a dull week any day.

    We hold you in our prayers for a safe return home, sooner than later.

    Susan

  3. NOT HAVING MUCH LUCK HERE AS THIS POST INDICATES YOUR DULL DAYS MAKE MY BAD DAYS SEEM OF NO GREAT MATTER, INSIGNIFACANT INCONVIENCE, A MERE JOT OR TITTLE IN LIFES TIMELINE HOWEVER THEY DO CONCERN PEOPLE (GOD’S CREATED SOULS) NOT SO INSIGNIFICANT….OH HOW I LONG FOR HIS GUIDANCE SO AS NOT TO LOOSE ONE OF THEM…BUT THAT IS BEYOND ME. i CAN HARDLY MAINTAIN MY VERY SMALL GROUP OF 10 IN HARMONY. i HOLD FAST UNTIL HIS RETURN, soon i hope, MY PRAYER IS STILL THAT NO WEAPON OF THE ENEMY IS EVEN ABLE TO FIND YOU, IN THE NAME AND POWER OF THE BLOOD OF CHRIST JESUS. ON THIS PRAYER AND PROMISE I STAND. IN HIS HOLY AND POWERFUL NAME AMEN

Leave a Reply

