Happy Thanksgiving

Thanksgiving began with a 10K race here at the camp. I finished in 52 minutes. Needless to say, I did not win. I did have a good time, though. We had a special Thanksgiving service at 11:00, which was followed by dinner. The dining facilities were decorated very nicely. Then, it was back to work. I walked around the work areas and talked with the troops. Everyone is doing very well. I guess the parade fell through. I’m not sure the Sergeant Major would have appreciated it anyway.

We got a load of boxes from NorthHaven church today. I’m grateful for all the support that we continue to get. It certainly means a lot to my soldiers.

As I walked back to my trailer, the incoming indirect fire alarm went off. There were no explosions, though, so I guess no rounds impacted the camp. That is truly something for which we can be thankful.

As is the case with most Americans, I suspect, I tend to dwell on the things in my life for which I have difficulty giving thanks. Most of those, however, are simply one side of a coin of blessings. I do not like being away from home, but this is only because there are those at home that I love, and who love me. For all of you who support us daily with your prayers, I give my heartfelt thanks.

Blessings,

Randy

Leave a Reply

