Rainy Day

It has been raining all afternoon. The rain turns the clay into mud that has the consistency of peanut butter. I think I’ll sit in the trailer and watch an old Hitchcock film tonight. First, I’ll give a little update about my last two weeks.

I just got back back from a trip north near Saddam’s ancestral home.  It reminded me of eastern Colorado with flat brown land and mountains that were visible in the distance. My trip back was a three and one-half hour ride in the back of an Air Force cargo plane. I discovered that the body armor does a very good job of putting pressure on one’s bladder.

The week before was the worst attack that we’ve had since our arrival. We spent the time huddled on the floor waiting for it to be over. It was another opportunity for prayer and spiritual growth. The good news is that we have begun to turn in equipment and prepare for our departure. That is certainly a good feeling.

3 thoughts on “Rainy Day

  1. Saw Hitchcock’s “The Birds” again last night. It was just as scary as when we were little. Remember how the birds would dive in front of the riding lawn mower? I thought my life was over until I noticed that they were eating the grasshoppers the mower kicked up. I’m halfway through with my radiation treatments. No side effects except for a cold. Take care. Rhonda

  2. Randy, I can only imagine how momentous a simple task, such as ‘turning in the equipment’, can come to be. I’m praying you don’t need any of it before you get to come home.

Leave a Reply

